Poetry: Clase de poesía al aire libre

To start out the unit on poetry my CT had students listen to us read as many poems as possible. She also expose students to as many poetry books as they could get their hands on. She suggested reading and reading some more…

This week students started to write their own. I am so amazed at the enthusiasm of the students to write their own poems. Some students have started to fill pages and pages of poems.

On one of the sunny days we had this week she thought it would be a great idea to start the lesson outside. By taking student outside she made the lesson of capturing ordinary moments and making them extraordinary, a very real experience.

This is what we wrote on a little board outside at the top of a hill:

Parjarito pajarito pio pio pio

Abeja, abeja bzz bzz bzz

Arboles, arboles swoosh swoosh

Gusano, gusano ______

Los arboles verdes

Como el pasto en que camino

Hojas secas

En el pasto

Quemadas por el sol ardiente

photo 4

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. 1bluedot
    Mar 03, 2014 @ 02:20:55

    This sounds awesome. I also was tasked with leading classes on poetry this week…I’m more disappointed with how things turned out in my class, but I definitely agree that the kids surprised me with how eager they were to not only write, but share their poems.

    Reply

    • orissjaz
      Mar 03, 2014 @ 04:30:24

      Yes, I am sorry to hear that, however poetry may not be the easiest thing to teach my CT makes it seem very effortless and it’s fun to co-teach with someone that is so enthusiastic to teach it.
      Time will give us the experience we need 🙂

      Reply

Leave a comment